U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.

Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.

The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.



The Inspector General Act of 1978 (IG Act) established Offices of Inspector General in 12 federal government departments and agencies to improve their efficiency and economy. When Congress amended the IG Act in 1988, it established statutory inspector general offices in 33 designated federal entities, including the Corporation for Public Broadcasting.

View the full text of the Inspector General Act